College and University Trustee Screening Commission

President Thomas C. Alexander Senator John L. Scott, Jr. Senator Daniel B. "Danny" Verdin, III Senator Richard A. "Dick" Harpootlian

> Staff: Macey Webb



Representative William R. Whitmire
Chairman
Representative John King
Representative Seth Rose
Representative Timothy A. "Tim" McGinnis

429 Blatt Building
P.O. Box 142
Columbia, South Carolina 29202
Phone: (803) 734-3054
Email: maceywebb@schouse.gov

College and University Trustee Screening Commission Report to the General Assembly April 18, 2023

The College and University Trustee Screening Commission found the following individuals qualified and nominated for the Trustee seats to which they applied. These individuals will be released to receive commitments on Wednesday, April 19, 2023, at 12:00 p.m. noon. The Joint Assembly to elect the trustees is currently set for Wednesday, May 3, 2023, immediately following the Joint Assembly to honor David M. Beasley scheduled at 12:00 p.m. (noon). A complete transcript of the hearings for these candidates will be printed in today's Senate and House Journals.

COLLEGE OF CHARLESTON

CANDIDATES FOUND QUALIFIED AND NOMINATED

2nd Congressional District - Seat 3 – expires June 30, 2026 **Derrick L. Williams** – Columbia

3rd Congressional District – Seat 5 – expires June 30, 2026 **Shawn M. Holland** – Anderson

4th Congressional District – Seat 7 – expires June 30, 2026 **Matthew C. Klein** – Greenville

5th Congressional District – Seat 9 – expires June 30, 2026 Henry A. Futch, Jr. – Rock Hill

6th Congressional District – Seat 11 – expires June 30, 2026 **Darryl J. Fyall**- Charleston

7th Congressional District – Seat 13 – expires June 30, 2026

Henrietta U. Golding – Myrtle Beach Ashley B. Nance – Florence

At-Large – Seat 15 – expires June 30, 2026 Renee B. Romberger – Greenville

At-Large – Seat 17 – expires June 30, 2026 **Steve D. Swanson** – Mount Pleasant

FRANCIS MARION UNIVERSITY

CANDIDATES FOUND QUALIFIED AND NOMINATED

1st Congressional District – Seat 1 – expires June 30, 2026 Mark S. Moore – Mount Pleasant

2nd Congressional District – Seat 2 – expires June 30, 2024 **Beth G. Bauknight** - Irmo

5th Congressional District – Seat 5 – expires June 30, 2026 **H. Paul Dove, Jr.** - Winnsboro

6th Congressional District – Seat 6 – expires June 30, 2026 Floyd L. Keels – Lake City

> At-Large- Seat 8 - expires 2026 Robert E. Lee – Myrtle Beach

At-Large- Seat 10 - expires 2026 Kenneth W. Jackson. – Mount Pleasant

> At-Large- Seat 12 - expires 2026 W. Edward Gunn - Columbia

At-Large- Seat 13 - expires 2026 Patricia C. Hartung - Greenville

LANDER UNIVERSITY

CANDIDATE FOUND QUALIFIED AND NOMINATED

1st Congressional District – Seat 9 – expires June 30, 2024 Mark W. Taylor – Mount Pleasant

MEDICAL UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH CAROLINA

CANDIDATES FOUND QUALIFIED AND NOMINATED

1st Congressional District – Medical Seat – expires June 30, 2026 **Donald R. Johnson, II** – Isle of Palms

2nd Congressional District – Medical Seat – expires June 30, 2026 **James Lemon** – Columbia

3rd Congressional District – Medical Seat- expires June 30,2026 **Richard M. Christian, Jr.** – Greenwood

4th Congressional District – Lay Seat – expires June 30, 2026 **Thomas L. Stephenson** – Greenville

5th Congressional District – Lay Seat – expires June 30, 2026 Terri R. Barnes – Rock Hill

6th Congressional District – Medical Seat – expires June 30, 2026 W. Melvin Brown III – Charleston

7th Congressional District – Lay Seat – expires June 30, 2026 **James A. Battle, Jr. -** Nichols

SOUTH CAROLINA STATE UNIVERSITY

CANDIDATES FOUND QUALIFIED AND NOMINATED

5th Congressional District – Seat 5 – expires June 30, 2026 **Abigail Busby-Webb** - Sumter **Darrell Johnson** - Clover **Thomas E. Thompson** – Rock Hill

7th Congressional District – Seat 7- expires June 30,2026 **Starlee Alexander** – Florence

> At-Large – Seat 9 - expires June 30, 2026 Rodney C. Jenkins – Columbia

At-Large – Seat 11 – expires June 30, 2026 **Robert S. Reese** – Charleston

WINTHROP UNIVERSITY

CANDIDATE FOUND QUALIFIED AND NOMINATED

4th Congressional District – Seat 4 – expires June 30, 2028

Edward R. Driggers - Greer